DynamicPrimitive lighting.

Dec 4, 2012 at 10:15 AM

Hello, I'm new in NineEngine. But I like it :)

Now my question. I'm trying to create model programmatically. I started with DynamicPrimitive. I added vertex gradually by AddVertex(Vector3, Color) method. All work's fine until draw. Geometry look's good, but there is no lighting. I suppose it's just because I didn't set normal vectors. But how to do that in DynamicPrimitives? Then I found LightingEnabled property in BasicMaterial. But DynamicPrimitive doesn't have Material property. Is there some way how to generate Model programmatically like DynamicPrimitive?

Here is link with screenshot of my app with no lighting (DynamicPrimitive is white).

http://www.dvorakmichal.eu/NoLighting.png

I really appreciate any help.

Thanks

Developer
Dec 4, 2012 at 10:50 AM

Take a look at how the primitives(plane) are built.

Eric

Dec 4, 2012 at 11:10 AM

Thanks for tip ;)

I'm going to check it out...

Dec 4, 2012 at 12:10 PM

ok, lighting is working now (see screenshot). But now I have really bad performance. Scene contains 169 my new custom primitives (inherited from Primitive<VertexPositionNormalTexture>). Scene contains 199848 vertices. Is it too much?

When I used base XNA method GraphicDevice.DrawUserIndexedPrimitives with vertex array and indexes there was no problem with FPS.
Even if I set CastShadow to false FPS isn't good :(

Thank you.

http://www.dvorakmichal.eu/CustomPrimitive.png

Coordinator
Dec 4, 2012 at 12:37 PM

Are you drawing the same amount of primitives when using DrawUserIndexedPrimitives?

Are there any performance improvements when turn off shadows? Have you tried to turn off shadowing for the main light?

What type of material are you using?

Because what Primitive does is basically calling into GraphicsDevice.DrawIndexedPrimtivies once you have setup your vertex data.

Dec 4, 2012 at 1:03 PM
  • Are you drawing the same amount of primitives when using DrawUserIndexedPrimitives?

Yes.