Engine Nine 1.4.0

Rating:        Based on 8 ratings
Reviewed:  6 reviews
Downloads: 9371
Change Set: de8f12ea5fab
Released: Oct 1, 2012
Updated: Nov 28, 2012 by yufeih
Dev status: Stable Help Icon

Recommended Download

Application Engine Nine 1.4 Installer
application, 39436K, uploaded Nov 28, 2012 - 5609 downloads

Other Available Downloads

Source Code Engine Nine 1.4
source code, 2973K, uploaded Oct 3, 2012 - 735 downloads
Example Engine Nine 1.4 Samples
example, 34326K, uploaded Oct 3, 2012 - 1880 downloads
Source Code Engine Nine 1.4 Source
source code, 39867K, uploaded Oct 3, 2012 - 1147 downloads

Release Notes

Introduction

This release has a LOT of improvements over previous versions.

It's significantly faster and easier to work with.
The new XAML object model is simply amazing.
The new component model is so elegant.
The new material system is the best one I've ever created.


I just can't wait to use it myself and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Known Issues

The material system does not work well with Silverlight

Reviews for this release

     
Senior c# dev here (Silverlight, WPF, MVC 4) This sure must be a good framework for those who dev'ed it... Sure not usable as is... Sources don't compile without having hands in it. Samples don't run without exceptions (missing extensions in sample files). Tried to add a single model : furthest I went within an hour = white texture rendering. Can't even add a normal map...
by waxalica on Sep 21, 2013 at 9:18 PM
     
A very nice engine indeed. Documentation a plus but not a necessity when the entire source code is for viewing!
by waltonsamuel on Apr 27, 2013 at 5:14 PM
     
Engine Nine is a great 3D engine, the XAML object model works perfectly and let's you create a world in no-time. Only thing I would like to see is some 'Game-related' documentation. Like enemies with path finding and collisions.
by stefanorie on Dec 10, 2012 at 3:21 PM
     
Not sure why it just got downvoted. .. installation was straight forward and simple. Would like to see the documentation filled out a bit more but an awesome starting.
by qcha0s on Dec 6, 2012 at 12:17 AM
     
I'm marking it down because installation process is arcane and incomprehensible. I have spent about three hours today trying to get this software installed and I've made no progress with it. If you expect people to try out this software then they must be able to install and de-install it with ease. This is far from the case currently.
by boblang99 on Nov 26, 2012 at 3:17 PM
     
engine nine is simple to understand and use, performant, flexible and configurable, extensible, stable, alive! i love it! great job - hope you will keep the wheel turning for a long time & looking forward to the next version :-) tombstonedguy
by tombstonedguy on Oct 1, 2012 at 7:55 PM