This project is read-only.

Newbie questions (FPS Camera + "look at" camera vector)

Apr 20, 2013 at 6:22 PM
Edited Apr 27, 2013 at 10:29 PM
At first I must say that I'm quite new to coding 3D graphics so please be understanding ;)

I'm trying to code something like 3D FPS shooter. At the beginning I've faced 2 problems:
  1. [SOLVED] I need a camera that behaves like those in FPS games -> player can rotate in any direction infinitely. I assume that it's achieved by setting mouse position to center of the screen on every mouse move right? How can I make this in Nine? I made custom camera based on FreeCamera and added setting mouse position in Update method but it works not smoothly enough. Is there any other solution to this?
  2. I need a vector that points from camera position to direction where it looks. I need this information to indicate the model which camera looks at.
Any help would me appreciated :)
Apr 22, 2013 at 8:03 AM
  1. Probably has something to do with your implementation.
  2. Try Viewport.Unproject method.
Apr 22, 2013 at 8:04 AM
Edited Apr 22, 2013 at 8:05 AM
If it is always the center of the screen, then the Forward property of the view inverse matrix is what you need for the 2nd question.
Apr 22, 2013 at 10:28 AM
Edited Apr 22, 2013 at 10:29 AM
Second question:

I've written the code that will make a ray illustrating the vector of "view" of camera:
 if(e.Key == Keys.L)    {
                var dynamicPrimitive = new DynamicPrimitive(GraphicsDevice);
                dynamicPrimitive.AddRay(new Ray(scene.GetDrawingContext().CameraPosition, ((FreeCamera)scene.GetDrawingContext().Camera).View.Forward), 2.0f,
                                        Color.Azure, 5.0f);
                scene.Add(dynamicPrimitive);
            }
But when i press L ingame and step backward little bit (with no mouse move of course) the ray shows in other direction Image